Topic 1: School

Hello readers, today I’m going to be discussing the complicated topic of school for teenagers.

School is often a word teens dislike, and there are many reasons for this.

Being a teenager means you often feel judged at school. This can be for many reasons. Maybe you worry about your hair not being perfect, people looking at you and commenting on your appearance, or perhaps you are sitting in front of the older years in assembly and you feel as though they are looking and judging you from behind.

I often find myself in these uncomfortable situations. I feel that the things I wear on non-uniform day are too revealing or too covered up, too different or not following the trends. I feel scared to stand out as I always worry people will judge me and form an opinion of me that isn’t really what I’m like.

Well, for those of you reading this, if you can relate to any of these feelings of worry or anxiety; know that you are not alone in any of this – as I, and, I’m guessing, most other teenagers feel this way too (both male or female).

But it’s not just the fear and worry of being judged. School can also make teenagers extremely stressed or anxious.

As you reach the older years of your teenage life, work and exams begin to crop up.

A few months ago, I was hit by a sudden realization of how close exams really were. I panicked and became extremely depressed. I felt I had hit rock bottom and that my life was over.

However, I was told to have a few days in bed doing nothing, and after that I was fine!!

Becoming depressed and suffering from anxiety is very common among teenagers, which I later realized.

The stresses of exams mean teens push themselves too hard, resulting in something like I had. But just remember; if you do ever feel like I once did – you are never alone, and the situation is never as bad as it first seems. Have hope and happiness, and it will all be okay in the end!

Thank-you for reading this, and I really hope this helped to show you that exams stress everyone out; but you will recover… Try not to work yourself too hard, but don’t do what I did, and not plan ahead. Staying organised is really important, so you don’t have to push yourself so hard right before the event.

Enjoy the rest of your day, and stay positive! Thanks again. Teen Girl x

Leave a Reply

